Mark Cutifani joins Laing O’Rourke board


Experienced global CEO, Mark Cutifani will join the Laing O’Rourke Board as senior independent director, also chairing the board’s sustainability committee.

Mr Cutifani stepped down in April as chief executive and an executive director of Anglo American plc after nine years of leading the global mining powerhouse.

Sir John Parker, LOR Chairman said Mr Cutifani adds significant operational and major project engineering experience to the Board. 

“We are extremely fortunate to secure the expertise of Mark Cutifani to complete the refresh of the Laing O’Rourke Board, which I began in 2018,” Sir John said.

“Mark’s 45 years’ business experience and outstanding leadership credentials will augment the dedicated and diverse team we have assembled at the Board level, which is deeply connected to Laing O’Rourke’s committed senior management team.

“He will chair a new Sustainability Committee of the Board, demonstrating the business’s ongoing commitment to strengthen its ESG (Environmental, Social, Governance) platforms since announcing stretching targets in April last year.

“Mark is a hugely principled person, and a gifted ‘human’ leader, and will be a valuable addition to our dynamic Group. I’m delighted to welcome him on board”

Sir John announced the news at Laing O’Rourke’s Group Strategy Conference for 2022 and said Mr Cutifani’s appointment would take effect in September.

Chief Executive Ray O’Rourke said the Group was primed for growth and had added significant capability across its teams to meet the opportunities ahead in its core operating markets – Europe and Australia.

“I look forward to working with Mark as our Senior Independent Director to advance these critical elements for our industry.” – Ray O’Rourke

The Laing O’Rourke Board

  • Sir John Parker GBE FREng – Chair
  • Ray O’Rourke KBE – CEO (until CEO transition, then Deputy Chair)
  • Des O’Rourke – Deputy Chair
  • Mark Cutifani FREng – Senior Independent Director
  • Seamus French – Europe Hub MD and CEO-designate (until CEO transition)
  • Rowan Baker – Chief Financial Officer
  • Charlotte Valeur – Non Executive Director
  • Greg Branch – Non-Executive Director
  • Dr Hayaatun Sillem CBE – Non Executive Director
  • Cathal O’Rourke – Non-Executive Director (later in FY23)
  • Jim Edmondson – Company Secretary

Leave a Comment